Returning Something Without a Receipt Just Changed

By WorldSpotterCom Editorial Team Published 19 min read
Returning Something Without a Receipt Just Changed
In this article

In August 2026, Walmart wrote into its return policy that it limits how often you can return items without a receipt, after Lowe's stopped accepting exchanges, not just returns, without proof of purchase that spring. Without a receipt, what usually saves the refund is a record the store can look up, such as the card you paid with, your store account or an online order. If no record turns up, Walmart, Target and Best Buy pay store credit at best, and Lowe's won't take the item back at all.

The tightening began in early 2024, when Lowe's stopped taking returns without proof of purchase, and in 2025 Best Buy made store credit its only no-receipt refund. Home Depot's written policy changed too. Sometime between May 13 and October 2, 2026, it dropped its no-receipt terms and now describes only a receipt lookup. Target and Costco have not changed the substance of their written rules, and no federal law requires a store to take back an item that works as it should.

Key takeaways

  • Lowe's has refused returns without valid proof of purchase since March or April 2024. Between April and May 2026 it applied the same rule to exchanges.
  • Walmart's policy, updated in August 2026, says it limits the number and frequency of non-receipted returns. The refund is a Walmart gift card, and only after a government-issued photo ID check.
  • Between May 13 and October 2, 2026, Home Depot removed from its written policy the statement that no-receipt returns may be refunded as store credit at the lowest advertised price. The current text covers only receipt lookups: 90 days for card and check purchases, 365 days on Home Depot credit accounts.
  • Best Buy and Target give store credit, not cash, when no purchase record turns up. Best Buy also keeps the sales tax.
  • Paying by card, signing in to a store account, or ordering online usually creates a record the store can find at the counter.
  • State laws in California, New York and Florida mainly require stores to post their return policies. New York extended its law to online retailers on August 7, 2025.

What it means for you

Which change matters depends on where you shop, how you paid and where you live.

  • Shopping at Lowe's or Home Depot. With no proof of purchase, Lowe's will neither refund nor exchange the item, but it can look up the purchase by order number, payment card or digital wallet, phone number or MyLowe's Rewards account. Home Depot's written policy now describes only a possible receipt lookup, within 90 days for card or check purchases and 365 days on Home Depot credit accounts, and doesn't say what happens if nothing turns up. Some Home Depot categories also have 30-day or 7-day windows since July 7, 2026. Details are in What actually changed, and when.
  • Shopping at Walmart, Target or Best Buy. If no record is found, expect store credit if the return is accepted at all: at Walmart, a gift card after an ID check, with limits on how often; at Target, a card usable only in Target stores; at Best Buy, credit without the sales tax. The worked example in What a no-receipt return pays shows what that can cost. Costco's rules haven't changed, and a receipt may not be necessary there.
  • Paying cash or by card. A card, a store account or an online order usually leaves a record the counter can search. Cash leaves none unless you scanned a loyalty account or phone number at checkout. See What counts as proof of purchase.
  • Shopping in New York, California or Florida. State laws there mainly require stores to post their return policies, and their refund remedies apply only when a store fails to do so. New York's rules cover online retailers too since August 7, 2025. A card dispute won't cover a change of mind. Both are explained in When a store says no.

What actually changed, and when

The changes below come from comparing each retailer's current policy page with archived copies of the same page kept by the Internet Archive's Wayback Machine. Retailers rarely announce edits to their policies. Each date range therefore runs from the last archived copy with the old wording to the first copy with the new wording. For Home Depot, whose later archived copies captured only a bot-check page, the range ends at the live page as checked in a browser on October 2, 2026.

Lowe's: proof of purchase required for returns and now exchanges

In January 2024, Lowe's return policy still allowed returns without a valid receipt and gave in-store credit at the item's current selling price, at the store's discretion. That wording was still there in a March 5, 2024 copy. By April 5, 2024 the section had been replaced with a single rule: Lowe's does not accept returns without valid proof of purchase.

An April 11, 2026 copy still covered returns only. By May 18, 2026, the current Lowe's policy read "returns or exchanges." That closes the option of swapping an item for a different size or color without a record of the purchase.

Walmart: limits now written into the policy

Through early 2024, Walmart's policy offered a cash refund on non-receipted items worth less than $10. By late May 2024, that option was gone and every approved no-receipt return paid out as a Walmart gift card.

In August 2026, between archived copies from August 4 and August 24, Walmart added a sentence saying it limits the number and frequency of non-receipted returns a customer may complete. Eligibility is set by its refund verification process. The policy already reserved the right to limit or decline returns. The August 2026 edit makes the limit explicit, but it still publishes no number.

Best Buy: store credit only

Until at least late April 2025, Best Buy's policy said returns lacking proof of purchase may require an email address and may be denied or limited, and that sales tax and fees would not be refunded. By late July 2025, the current wording added that these refunds "will be in the form of store credit."

Home Depot: no-receipt terms removed

Home Depot's no-receipt wording was identical in archived copies from June 2025 and May 13, 2026. It said returns without valid proof of purchase may be refunded as store credit at the lowest advertised price, and that non-receipted returns required a driver's license or government photo ID and went through a third-party refund verification system. The live return policy and refund policy pages, checked October 2, 2026, contain none of that.

The refund policy's "Purchases Without a Receipt" section now says only that Home Depot "may be able to locate" your receipt in its system. That covers credit card, debit card and check purchases within 90 days, and purchases on the Home Depot Consumer Credit Card, Pro Xtra Credit Card or a Home Depot Commercial Account within 365 days. The pages don't say what happens when no record is found. This is a change in the written policy only, and it doesn't show how stores now handle a return with no record.

Separately, Home Depot dated two shorter return windows to July 7, 2026. Halloween and holiday decor must come back within 30 days, and pumps, portable evaporation products and portable heaters within 7 days, unused and with proof of purchase. Most merchandise still has 90 days.

No change at Target or Costco

Target's current help page still gives no-receipt refunds as a merchandise return card and says these returns "may be limited." Costco's guarantee still does not require a receipt.

Store by store: current rules

The table summarizes each retailer's written policy as of October 2, 2026. Stores can deny any return under their own terms, and staff can make exceptions, so check the policy again before you go.

Retailer No receipt and no record found ID Records the store can search
Walmart Walmart gift card if refund verification approves; number and frequency limited Government-issued photo ID; details stored in a database used to authorize returns Debit or credit card (store purchases); phone number or email (online orders)
Target Merchandise return card, usable only in Target stores; "may be limited" Government-issued ID to receive the card Target Circle Card; third-party Visa, Mastercard, Amex and Discover credit cards; Target account or Wallet
Costco Receipt "may not be necessary"; 90-day limit on TVs, computers, major appliances and other listed items Membership Membership purchase history
Home Depot Not stated (until at least May 2026: may be store credit at the lowest advertised price) Valid ID listed among what to bring for in-store returns Credit card, debit card or check purchases within 90 days; Home Depot credit cards and Commercial Account within 365 days; shipping confirmation email for online orders
Lowe's Return or exchange not accepted Refund verification may require picture ID Receipt, order number, payment card or digital wallet, phone number, MyLowe's Rewards account
Best Buy Store credit, may be denied or limited; no sales tax or fees refunded Not stated; may require an email address Online orders: packing slip, receipt or the credit card used; orders are listed in your Best Buy account

Sources for the table: Walmart policies, Target returns help and its merchandise return card page, Costco warehouse returns, Costco's return policy, and the Home Depot, Lowe's and Best Buy pages linked above. The Home Depot, Lowe's, Best Buy and Target pages were checked in a browser on October 2, 2026.

Amazon has no paper-receipt problem to solve. To drop an Amazon return at Whole Foods, you start the return in your Amazon account and show a QR code at the counter, with no box or label needed, according to Whole Foods' Amazon returns page. The order record serves as the receipt.

What counts as proof of purchase

The question at most counters is whether the store can find your purchase, not whether you kept the slip. Each type of record works differently.

  • The card you paid with. Walmart searches store purchases by debit or credit card, and Home Depot says it may locate card or check purchases made within the past 90 days. Target's lookup list names its own Circle cards and third-party Visa, Mastercard, American Express and Discover credit cards. The same Target page also tells store shoppers to bring "the payment credit or debit card used to purchase the item" so the store can attempt a lookup, so bring a debit card too, even though the list doesn't name third-party debit cards.
  • Store accounts and loyalty programs. Lowe's accepts a phone number or MyLowe's Rewards account. Target shows in-store receipts in your account if you paid with a card linked to it or to Target Wallet. Costco shows up to two years of in-warehouse receipts in your Costco.com account, in six-month blocks, and the membership desk can look up older ones.
  • Online order history. An online order leaves a record in your account. Walmart can find one by phone number or email, and Target uses the return barcode in your account. Home Depot's in-store return instructions ask for the receipt or the shipping confirmation email.
  • A bank or card statement. No major chain's written policy lists a statement as proof. A statement shows the date and amount, though, which helps an associate run a card lookup.

Cash leaves no record unless you scanned a loyalty account or phone number at checkout. For anything you might return, that is the main argument for paying by card or using an account.

What a no-receipt return pays

When no record turns up, you usually get store credit instead of money back on your card: a Walmart gift card, a Target merchandise return card usable only in Target stores, or Best Buy store credit. Some chains also keep the tax. Best Buy says sales tax and fees are not refunded without proof of purchase, and Walmart requires a receipt with a valid transaction number to refund sales tax in Connecticut, Massachusetts and Rhode Island.

The price the credit is based on is harder to pin down. Home Depot's written policy said the lowest advertised price until at least May 13, 2026, but its current pages don't say. The no-receipt wording at Walmart, Target and Best Buy names no price basis either.

Illustrative example. A $60 item, with 8% sales tax, went on sale for $45 after you bought it.

Refund with receipt          = price paid × (1 + tax rate)
                             = $60 × 1.08 = $64.80 back to your card

No receipt, tax kept         = price paid
                             = $60.00 in store credit

No receipt, credit at the    = lowest price × (1 + tax rate)
lowest price, tax refunded   = $45 × 1.08 = $48.60 in store credit

Here, price paid is the price you actually paid, lowest price is the item's later sale price, and tax rate is your local sales tax. The second case matches the tax rule in Best Buy's written policy, and in Walmart's in Connecticut, Massachusetts and Rhode Island, assuming the credit is based on the price you paid; neither policy states a price basis. The third case is the basis Home Depot's written policy described until at least May 2026. No current policy cited here states it.

Losing the receipt costs $4.80 in the second case, about 7% of the $64.80 you paid, and $16.20 in the third, 25%. In every case the money comes back as store credit, which you can spend only at that chain. On a sale-prone item like a tool or a TV, finding the order record before you go is the surest way to get the full $64.80 back to your card.

When a store says no

How ID tracking decides yes or no

Walmart says it stores the details from your ID in a database used to authorize returns, and that all non-receipt returns go through a refund verification process. Lowe's says it uses refund verification systems, which may require a valid picture ID. One vendor of such systems is The Retail Equation, which the CFPB lists as owned by Appriss.

The Retail Equation says its software may look at how often you make returns, their value, whether you have a receipt, and your purchase history, with the factors varying by retailer. It then recommends that the store approve, warn or deny. It says it recommends a warning or denial about 1% of the time, and that it does not consider age, gender, race or nationality.

If The Retail Equation flags a return, its site lets you request a Retail Activity Report within 60 days of the transaction. You need the transaction ID from the denial receipt. The CFPB's list of consumer reporting companies includes The Retail Equation and says you can get a free report and dispute errors.

That CFPB page was last updated in March 2023 and lists a mailing address, while the company's own site now takes requests through an online portal, by phone or by email. The Retail Equation says the data in the report comes from the retailer, so corrections go to the store.

What the law requires

A return of an item that works as it should is a store policy, not a legal right. Federal law does not make a store accept one. Defective goods are a separate question, governed by warranty law rather than return policies. The state laws people cite are mostly disclosure rules, and they have conditions.

  • California. Civil Code 1723 applies to stores that refuse full refunds, credit or exchanges within seven days for goods returned with proof of purchase. Those stores must post their policy at registers, entrances, on tags or on order forms. If they don't, the buyer can recover the purchase price by returning, or trying to return, the goods within 30 days of purchase. The law excludes food, plants and flowers, perishables, "as is" or "all sales final" goods, customized goods, items used or damaged after purchase, goods not returned in their original package, and goods that can't be resold for health reasons. Because it is written around returns made with proof of purchase, it offers little to a buyer who has none.
  • New York. General Business Law 218-a requires a posted refund policy. The policy must say whether refunds are given on merchandise with no proof of purchase, the time limit, whether refunds are cash or store credit, any restocking fee, and that customers can ask for a written copy. If a store doesn't comply, the buyer gets a cash refund or credit, the buyer's choice, for up to 30 days. That applies only if the item is unused and undamaged and the buyer can verify the purchase date with a receipt or the store's own verification method. Part V of the 2025 budget law (Chapter 58, signed May 9, 2025) extended these rules to online retailers from August 7, 2025. Online marketplaces are excluded where they are not the seller. The governor had proposed in January 2025 a minimum 30-day return window, but the enacted Part V contains no minimum window.
  • Florida. Under Statute 501.142, a store that gives no refunds or exchanges must post a sign saying so. If it doesn't, it must refund unused merchandise in its original carton, if there was one, within 7 days of purchase, on request and with proof of purchase. Food, perishables, custom-made or custom-altered goods, and goods the store can't legally resell are excluded.

All three remedies depend on the store failing to post its policy. The large chains post theirs, so these laws rarely override a no-receipt denial.

Why a chargeback won't fix a change of mind

Card disputes cover billing errors and problems with what you bought, not a change of mind. Under Regulation Z's billing-error rules, you can dispute goods that were not delivered or not accepted as agreed, or a refund the store issued that was never properly credited to your account. The card issuer must receive your written notice within 60 days after it sent the first statement showing the error.

Separately, 15 U.S.C. 1666i lets you raise claims about the quality of goods against a credit card issuer. Three conditions apply: you first tried in good faith to resolve it with the seller, the purchase was over $50, and you bought it in the same state as your mailing address or within 100 miles of it. The dollar and distance limits don't apply in a few cases, such as when the store is also the card issuer or is controlled by it.

The claim covers only the amount you still owe on that purchase when you notify the issuer. Both sets of rights apply to credit cards, not debit cards. This section is general information, not legal advice. If you think a store broke a state return-policy law, your state attorney general's consumer protection office takes complaints.

Frequently asked questions

Can I return a gift without a gift receipt?

Usually, but only for store credit. Walmart lets you exchange items without a gift receipt or take a Walmart gift card. Target may give a merchandise return card if you have no gift receipt or packing slip. Target also won't process a gift-receipt return on the same day the gift was bought.

Can I spend a Target merchandise return card online?

No. Target says the card can be used only in Target stores, not on Target.com, and can't be exchanged for cash or credit except where the law requires. If you showed ID to get the card, Target may ask for the same ID when you spend it.

Does a denied return affect my credit score?

No. The Retail Equation says it does not provide information on creditworthiness and does not share consumer data for credit, employment, insurance or housing decisions. It also says it does not pass one retailer's transaction details to other retailers. Some retailers can ask it to use insights drawn from pooled data across retailers.

How safe is my ID when a store scans it?

It depends on who stores the scan, and stores rarely say. In September 2026, ID-verification company IDScan.net confirmed a breach of more than 150 million driver's licenses collected by businesses that check IDs. TechCrunch's report did not connect that breach to store return desks. At Walmart and Target the written ID requirement applies to no-receipt returns, so a receipt or card lookup can spare you the scan, though Home Depot's page lists valid ID for any in-store return.

Can a store refuse a return even with a receipt?

Yes. Walmart's policy says it can limit or decline returns whether or not you have a receipt, and Target's says it can deny returns in cases of fraud, suspected fraud or abuse. Outside the posted-policy rules in states like New York, California and Florida, a receipt gets you a refund under the store's policy, not a legal guarantee.

Before you head to the counter

  1. Search your email and your store app or account for the order or e-receipt. At Costco, check the In-Warehouse tab in Orders & Purchases.
  2. Bring the card you paid with. Target asks for the credit or debit card used, though its lookup list names only its own cards and third-party credit cards.
  3. At Lowe's, if you can't produce any proof of purchase, don't make the trip. Neither a return nor an exchange will be accepted.
  4. Expect store credit rather than a refund to your card, possibly without the sales tax and possibly at a lower price than you paid. Decide whether that beats reselling or keeping the item.
  5. Bring a government-issued photo ID. If a return is denied, ask for the denial receipt, which includes the transaction ID needed to request your Retail Activity Report.
  6. Check the return window first. Proof of purchase doesn't help after the window closes, such as 90 days for most Walmart, Target and Home Depot items. Since July 7, 2026, Home Depot allows only 30 days for Halloween and holiday decor and 7 days for pumps, portable evaporation products and portable heaters.

Sources

More in Consumer

Browse Consumer →
Consumer

Shopping Scams Topped Social Media Fraud Reports. How to Shop Safely.

Fake shops now copy real brands and buy ads; check a store in minutes and pay in a way you can undo. In early October 2026, security researchers reported a 42% jump in new Amazon-themed web domains before the Prime Big Deal Days sale and a phishing kit that runs fake discount stores promoted on Facebook and TikTok. This guide sorts out what FTC, FBI and BBB data actually show about growth, explains how today's fake stores take money and card codes, and gives a short pre-purchase check using a free ICANN lookup. It compares what credit cards, debit cards, payment apps, gift cards and crypto let you recover, with an illustrative Black Friday order showing how the 60-day dispute clock can run out while you wait for a parcel.

Read article
Consumer

Crossed-Out 'Was' Prices Face Lawsuits. Here's How to Check a Deal

Shoppers sued Best Buy, Steve Madden and Nike in California federal court in 2026, alleging their crossed-out reference prices were rarely or never the real price. The cases are pending. In April, Washington's Supreme Court ruled that buyers there can't bring a private consumer-protection claim over a misleading bargain alone. This piece covers where each challenge stands, what the FTC guides and California, Massachusetts and Oregon rules require of a "was" price, and what Amazon's List Price, Typical Price and "Lowest Price in 30 Days" labels measure. A worked example shows a $10 saving dressed up as $80, and a checklist covers price history, price-match windows and complaints.

Read article
Consumer

Subscription Renewals: Which Dates Actually Matter?

Most subscription trouble comes down to one missed date, and it is usually not the renewal date on the receipt. This guide sets out the dates a subscription runs on: the cancellation deadline in your terms, the reminder windows that California, New York State, New York City, Minnesota, Virginia, Colorado and Illinois require, price-change notice periods, Apple's and Google's early billing, and the 60-day clocks for disputing a card or debit charge. An illustrative 60-day free trial that turns into a monthly plan is dated step by step, from sign-up to the last day to dispute, and the guide ends with a list of calendar reminders worth setting.

Read article

Educational content only. Not legal, financial or medical advice.